Carrot Cupcakes with Ginger Caramel

I’m not much of a reader but I have been reading this book lately, Life, on the line, by Grant Achatz & Nick Kokonas. I feel that the book has had such a profound influence on me and it has inspired me in so many ways that I couldn’t have imagined. Being at an age, where half the people don’t know what they want to do in life, I feel so lucky to have found something I truly love and want to pursue my career in it.Β Since the time I realised what passion truly is, I have always wanted to be a chef. It’s only in the recent years that this idea has really started to grow on me. I always tell myself that I’m gonna do something extraordinary, with no clear picture of what this ‘extraordinary’ actually is. But I guess I’m beginning to realise. The more I read the book, the more I can relate to Chef Grant. For anybody looking for inspiration, please do give it a read.Β When I started my blog, I was an average baker. Some would even say bad. I’m not good yet but I know I’m getting better. And I guess this is what really keeps me going. I want to thank everybody who takes out time to read my blog and share this with me. I’m so happy for that. πŸ™‚

carrot-cupcakes1

On a happier note, for those who follow me on instagram might know that I went for the WorldWide InstaMeet 14 on Sunday. The theme was a Dessert Potluck ❀ and it was so much fun! The decor was so pretty and colorful, and so many desserts to try (Now I know why I’m not losing weight). I’m gonna share the pictures with you guys once I get them. Which brings me to this new #favourite post. Tadaaa! I made these for the event as everybody had to get something for everybody to share. Since autumn has just started, I thought it would be a good idea to make these. Plus, I absolutely love Carrot Cake/Cupcakes! I paired them with a simple cream cheese frosting and drizzled some ginger caramel sauce, just to give it an extra kick. I make caramel sauce all the time but it was my first time infusing ginger into it and oh boy! I know I’m going to be obsessed with it for a while now. πŸ˜›

Carrot cupcakes.jpg

Carrot cakes can be a bit of work, because they have a lot of ingredients to assemble. But trust me, they are super easy to make once you have all your ingredients in place. And the results are just so good! They are so moist and packed with tons of flavour. The trick with them is to use brown sugar to really enhance the depth of flavour, and oil & applesauce help in moistening the cake. I like making my own applesauce because I don’t really like store bought stuff. If you want to make your own, you can use myΒ applesauce recipe. It’s super quick and easy. Or, if you’re too lazy to make some, store bought works fine as well. Just make sure it’s unsweetened. This cream cheese frosting is amaaaazing! It is light, yet rich and so smooth. Honestly, you need to try them right now. They are divine!

Recipe adapted from Sally’s baking addiction.

MAKES: 20-22 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For the cupcakes

  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts + some for garnish
  • 200 gms packed dark brown sugar
  • 60 gms castor sugar
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/ cup boiling water
  • 1 tsp black tea
  • 4 large eggs
  • 135 gms (3/4 cup) applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 300 gms plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 1 tsp ginger powder
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg powder
  • 260 gms grated carrot (about 4 large)

For the cream cheese frosting

  • 250 gms cream cheese
  • 80 gm heavy cream/ whipping cream
  • 50 gms icing sugar
  • few drops of vanilla extract

For the ginger caramel sauce

  • 50 gms granulated sugar
  • 23 gms salted butter
  • 1/2 tbsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt

 

METHOD

For the cupcakes

  • Preheat oven to 150 C. Line a baking tray with parchment paper. Spread the chopped walnuts and toast for about 8 minutes. Remove from oven and allow to cool.
  • Turn up the oven to 180 C. Line a muffin pan with cupcake liners and set aside.
  • Place black tea in a small bowl and pour boiling water over it. Let it stand for 10 minutes. Sieve and discard the black tea leaves. Reserve the black tea concentrate.
  • In a large bowl, sieve the flour, baking powder and baking soda together. Add cinnamon powder, ginger powder, nutmeg powder & salt and whisk until combined.
  • In another large bowl, whisk together the brown sugar, castor sugar, oil, tea concentrate, eggs, applesauce and vanilla extract until combined and no sugar lumps remain. Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix well using a spatula until just combined. Do not beat the batter.
  • Fold in the grated carrots and toasted walnuts. Pour the batter evenly into the cupcake liners (fill up toΒ 2/3 of the liner) and bake for 18-20 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean. Remove from oven and let it cool.

For the cream cheese frosting

  • In a medium bowl, beat the heavy cream until soft peaks form, and holds it’s shape.
  • In another bowl, beat the cream cheese for about 2 minutes just to lighten the texture. Add the icing sugar and vanilla extract and beat until no sugar lumps remain, if any. Gently fold in the whipped cream using a spatula. Cover with a cling film wrap and chill in the refrigerator until use.

For the ginger caramel sauce

  • In a small saucepan, simmer together the heavy cream and grated ginger over low heat. Do not bring to a boil. Turn off heat and let the ginger infuse into the cream for 20-30 minutes. If you want a stronger ginger taste, leave it for longer.
  • Heat granulated sugar in a medium saucepan over medium heat, stirring using a heat resistant rubber spatula or a wooden spoon.
  • Sugar will start to form clumps and eventually melt into a thick brown amber colored liquid as you keep stirring. Do not burn the sugar or you will have to restart the process. It only takes a few seconds for it to burn.
  • When the sugar has completely melted, immediately add the butter. Keep stirring. Be careful not to get your face too close to the heat as the sugar will bubble rapidly once butter is added. Stir until butter is completely melted, for about a minute.
  • Slowly pour in the ginger infused heavy cream and vanilla extract into the caramel.
  • Let the caramel boil for a few seconds.
  • Remove from heat and stir in the sea salt. Allow to cool down a bit before using.

Assembling

  • Pour the cream cheese frosting into a piping bag, with a thick nozzle. Frost the carrot cupcakes generously and drizzle the ginger caramel sauce over it. You can sprinkle chopped walnuts on top. Refrigerate until use.

 

Note:

  • You can try this recipe as a cake too! It’s gonna give you two layers of 9″ cake. Bake at 180 C for 30-35 mins. Happy Baking! πŸ˜€

 

If you like hearing from me, please hit the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle: myyummyspatula ❀

 

Leave a Reply

