Passion Fruit & Dark Chocolate Mini Cakes

For a while now, I have been trying to figure out what is my style of baking. I’m sure everybody has a style, I guess. If somebody was to ask me, ‘What is it that defines you?’, I’m not very sure I would have an answer to that. Or maybe I just don’t have a fixed style. I like flavours. I like experimenting with them. I love baking anything & everything. I guess that’s what defines me. I feel sometimes it’s better you don’t know. There’s an almost mysterious sort of beauty in not knowing, don’t you think? And sometimes when we do know, we struggle hard to keep it alive, rather than enjoying the process. I don’t know. I started blogging as a means to sharpen my skills. Yes, I have gotten better, although I have a long way to go on that front. But what is more important is that blogging for me has evolved into something bigger, a space to really share how I feel.

I am a very moody person. I like change. I get bored easily. A lot of people mistake it for being impulsive. I don’t think I am, well not at least for things that matter. Except for when I’m in the kitchen. I get these random ideas out of nowhere, and I instantly want to try them. I had this cocktail at my friend’s party, with green tea infused vodka, passion fruit and kaffir lime. That’s when I decided I wanted to try these flavours in a dessert. Coincidentally, chocolate compliments all these flavours perfectly! I tried infusing green tea in whipped cream, but that didn’t quite work out for me. I know where I went wrong. Maybe I’ll know better the next time I try it. Regardless, these mini dark chocolate flourless cake with whipped cream (semi green tea infused) & passion fruit syrup are just unbelievably good! They are dark, like actually dark. Just how I like it. Surprisingly, a friend who is not exactly a dark chocolate fan, absolutely loved it! So yeah, safe to say you’re gonna like it. I used my Dark Chocolate Cake recipe as the base. The flourless cake is really soft and has that dense kinda texture, which goes really well with lightly whipped cream and syrup. And the passion fruit syrup itself is amaaazinggg! A friend of mine went gaga over it, so much that she started licking it off the bowl. 😛

Flourless cake.jpg

passion-fruit-syrup

You will know what I’m talking about once you give it a try. It’s really quick and simple to make, & believe me, you’re not gonna like your chocolate cakes plain anymore.

Just a few tips before you start:

  • The key to a good flourless chocolate cake is the quality of dark chocolate used. It’s really important to use a very good quality dark chocolate. I used Cocoa Craft’s 85% Cocoa Bitter Chocolate. If that’s too dark for you, you can use 70% Cocoa as well.
  • When incorporating the melted chocolate into the beaten egg yolks, make sure that the chocolate has cooled completely, or else there’s a risk that the yolks might curdle.
  • I use whipping cream which is already sweet, hence I do not add sugar. In case you want to add sugar, add 1 1/2 tablespoon of icing sugar, depending on how sweet your cream is.

 

 

MAKES: 8 mini cakes

INGREDIENTS

For the cake

  • 125 gms dark chocolate (minimum 70% cocoa solids)
  • 60 gms unsalted butter (softened)
  • 3 large eggs (1 whole, 2 separated)
  • 80 gms castor sugar
  • grated zest of 1/2 orange(optional)

 

For the whipped cream

  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1 1/2 tbsp icing sugar (optional)
  • few drops of vanilla extract

 

For the passion fruit syrup

  • 1/3 cup passion fruit nectar (about 3 passion fruit)
  • 35 gms granulated sugar
  • 30 gms water
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

 

METHOD

For the cake

  • Grease 8 ramekins with butter and dust with flour. Tap out the extra flour.
  • Melt the chocolate either on a double boiler. Once the chocolate is melted, let the butter melt in the warm chocolate.
  • Beat the 1 whole and 2 egg yolks with 30 gms of the castor sugar. Gently fold in the melted chocolate and orange zest.
  • Preheat the oven to 180 C.
  • In another bowl, whisk the 2 egg whites until foamy. Gradually add the 50 gms of sugar and whisk until the egg whites are just holding their shape but not too stiff.
  • Lighten the chocolate mixture with a spoon of egg whites, and then gently fold in the rest of the whites using a spatula.
  • Pour the batter into the prepared ramekins and bake for 18-20 minutes or until the cake has risen and a skewer inserted comes out clean.
  • Cool the cakes in the ramekins. The middle of the cakes will sink as it cools. Remove the cakes from the ramekins onto a cake plate or a cake stand.

 

For the whipped cream

  • Whip the cream, vanilla extract and icing sugar (optional) until it forms soft peaks and holds its shape. Cover with a cling film wrap and refreigerate until use.

 

For the passion fruit syrup

  • In a small saucepan, heat sugar and water until the sugar has completely dissolved. Cool completely.
  • Sieve the passionfruit nectar to remove seeds and add the juice to the sugar syrup. Add lemon juice and mix.

 

Assembling the cakes

  • Put a generous dollop of whipped cream on the cakes, and generously drizzle the passionfruit syrup on top. (Make sure the cream and the syrup are both completely cool) Garnish with chocolate shavings or mint leaves. Happy eating!

 

Note: Try this as a 9″ cake! Double the quantities and bake at 180 C for 30-35 minutes.

 

If you like hearing from me, please hit the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle: myyummyspatula❤

 

Leave a Reply

