Coffee & Brown Sugar Tea Cake

Hi guys!

So it’s been a while since I last posted. This recipe was supposed to be up a long time ago, but I have just been procrastinating. I guess it’s just one of those ‘artist’ moments of finding some motivation. To be honest, I’m still struggling. It’s not like I’m not baking, I am. I just feel kinda stuck. Do you know what I mean? If you all have any tips, please do share. Thank you, xx.

Coffee cake.jpg

Anyway, let’s move on to a more fun topic. Cake, haha. So, I made this cake a while ago, celebrating my baby nephew. Yes, he’s 15 days old. How cute is that?! I haven’t got a chance to meet him yet, but I will soon. Now I love vanilla cakes, mostly because that’s how I got to baking, and they are so effortlessly delicious! This cake literally has everything I love- vanilla, coffee and just a teasing hint of cinnamon. You’re not going to believe just how simple this cake is and how amazing it tastes! It’s so moist and packed with all the right flavours, perfect to enjoy with a cup of your favourite coffee/tea. The best part is that it’s so well balanced with all the flavours that it hits all your right spots. This has become my go-to recipe whenever I want something quick yet effortlessly delicious. You can use the batter as a plain vanilla cake for other recipes as well.

Coffee cake 2.jpg

Coffee cake1.jpg

I would recommend using vanilla pods in this recipe, because you want that rich vanilla flavour, but if you are too lazy to go out and buy some, vanilla extract does the work too. The trick to getting a nice fluffy moist cake is the kind of fat used. No doubt oil cakes are much more moist than butter cakes, but I would not recommend using oil in this recipe because butter really enhances the vanilla flavour, which is very important. However, it is very essential to use softened butter at room temperature to get that moist fluffiness. I have recently started using parchment paper, and does it make your job simpler?! I always used the dusting flour method to prepare my baking tins but I strongly recommend using parchment paper. It’s super simple and you never have to worry about that cake breaking while de-moulding. Just brush the baking tin with some butter and line the parchment paper. However, if you haven’t got any parchment paper in hand, dusting flour method works just fine as well. That’s it, we are good to go!

Recipe adaptation: Donna Hay

Makes- One 5″ cake

INGREDIENTS

  • 30 gms dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 120 gms castor sugar
  • 100 gms unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 vanilla pod or 1 tsp good quality vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 120 ml milk, at room temperature
  • 165 gms plain flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tbsp instant coffee powder/granules
  • 30 gms unsalted butter, extra, melted

 

METHOD

  • Line a 5″ round tin with parchment paper. Set aside. Preheat oven to 160 C.
  • In a small bowl, mix together brown sugar and cinnamon. Set aside.
  • In a large bowl, cream together butter, sugar and vanilla beans/extract for a minute. Add eggs, milk, flour & baking powder and mix until well combined. Do not over beat the batter.
  • Pour half the batter into the prepared tin. Sprinkle the coffee granules and half of sugar-cinnamon mixture. Pour over the remaining cake batter and spread evenly. Sprinkle the rest of the sugar-cinnamon mixture and spoon over the extra melted butter.
  • Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until a skewer inserted comes out clean. Serve warm with a cup of coffee/tea.

 

Note: 

  • Double the ingredients to make a 9″ cake. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

 

If you like hearing from me, please hit the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram and Facebook for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle: myyummyspatula❤

 

4 thoughts on “Coffee & Brown Sugar Tea Cake

Leave a Reply

