Pear Raspberry Crumb Donut Cake

It’s been quite here for a while now. Let me start with apologizing for not being so active. I’m sorry. October has been crazy. I have literally not had a minute to breathe and just chill. Don’t get me wrong here, I love October. It’s my favorite month for a couple of reasons. Well, mostly because it’s my birthday month, haha. I’m a big birthday person. Actually, I love all celebrations, big or small. There’s something so cozy about them. It’s like you have something to look forward to. I hate not having anything to look forward to. I mean, isn’t that too dull a life? Okay, coming back to the point (see how easily I get distracted), I finally have time to write this.

One of the reasons I started blogging was because I wanted to be in practice. Now I can bake without blogging, but I guess it just keeps you more involved, you know. You sort of build this community where you want to share your stuff with people, which keeps you on your toes. Well, it keeps me on mine. I have started experimenting with ingredients and flavors which I would have been hesitant to do otherwise. For instance, this pear raspberry crumb cake. I had never worked with pear before. So, I wasn’t sure what to really expect. We don’t have a lot of pear cakes or desserts here in India. Surprisingly, I really liked it. There is such a different dark subtle taste to it. And oh, does it make your cakes moist! The juicier the pear, the moister your cake is. That is why, when you grate the pear, make sure to use the juice released. Do not throw that away. Although too much of anything is never good. So we might wanna have to put a limit there.

Pear crumble donut cake.jpg

To be honest, I intended for nice pear raspberry crumb donuts. But the cake is so moist and delicate that donut cakes seem like a better idea 😛 You will be surprised to know that it is eggless. I was. Thanks to pears. Let’s talk flavours. This is a dessert that screams autumn. Certainly my pictures don’t. I need to stop obsessing with flowers and plants, lol. Now pear and cardamom is a match made in heaven. They go so well together. But that’s not it, the crumb is flavoured with cinnamon, nothing overpowering though. Moreover, I absolutely the textures. There’s a soft delicate cake at the bottom and a slight crunch crumb top, with some hidden squished raspberries. Are we drooling or what?! It is super easy to make. The best part? It is sweetened with only brown sugar and honey! By the way, I have realized flights are the best place to write. I’m flying back home as I write this.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy the recipe and happy baking! ❤

pear-cake-3

pear-cake2

Recipe adapted: Sally’s baking addiction

 

MAKES: 8 mini donut cakes

INGREDIENTS

For the crumb topping

  • 45 gms plain flour
  • 45 gms dark brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 30 gms cold unsalted butter

 

For the cake

  • 120 gms plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon powder
  • seeds from 2 small cardamom, crushed
  • 1/4 tsp ginger powder
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • 124 gms grated pear, peeled (use the juice released)
  • 40 gms dark brown sugar
  • 40 gms honey
  • 30 ml vegetable oil
  • 30 ml milk
  • 30 gms frozen raspberries

 

METHOD

For the crumb

  • In a medium bowl, mix together flour, sugar and cinnamon powder. Cut the cold butter into small cubes and add to the flour mix. Using a fork, press down the butter until it forms clumps and crumbs. Do not overwork the butter as it will begin to get softer. Set aside.

 

For the cake

  • Grease a donut tray with butter and dust with flour. Set aside. Preheat oven to 180 C.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, cardamom, ginger powder, nutmeg and salt until combined.
  • In another large bowl, whisk the grated pear, brown sugar, honey, oil and milk until combined. Mix in the dry ingredients. Do not overwork the batter.
  • Spoon the batter into the donut tray. Fill only till 1/2 of the tray as we are going to push in the raspberries and add crumbs as well. Push few raspberries pieces into the batter and pour the crumb topping on top and gently press. You might wanna be generous with the crumbs because they are the best part! Bake for 25 mins or until the skewer inserted comes out clean. Few moist crumbs might stick which is okay.
  • Serve warm or at room temperature and enjoy with a cup of coffee!

 

If you like hearing from me, please hit the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram and Facebook for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle: myyummyspatula ❤

Facebook handle: My Yummy Spatula

 

One thought on “Pear Raspberry Crumb Donut Cake

Leave a Reply

