Ginger Pumpkin Cupcakes with Butterscotch Mascarpone Frosting

Hi guys!

I hope everybody is doing well and keeping warm. It’s getting chilly, isn’t it? I’m back home and it is quite cold here. Well, not so much but I feel extra cold so yeah. Definitely not a winter person. Anyway, let’s take a moment to appreciate fall. I tried and experimented with so many new flavours this year, and I still have a big list of things yet to bake. Unfortunately, I have my semester exams starting in another 2 weeks so I’m not quite sure if I will be able to finish that list just yet. More baking for next fall maybe?

I’m having one of my bad writing days, not that writing has ever been my forte. Sorry about that. Let me give you a little background about the cake. So, I made a pumpkin cake for the first time this year and I couldn’t believe how good it was. I wasn’t really expecting it to be very great or anything, but it was so good! Obviously I made it again, but this time without the chocolate. Just pure pumpkin goodness. I paired this one with ginger and I couldn’t be happier. These are like the perfect autumn cupcakes.  To be honest, I made this originally as a cake. I kind of liked it more as a cake. I have never really been a cupcake person. Yes, I’m weird. Nonetheless, both the versions taste just as yum. I know the name is quite a lot to take in, but trust me, they are so simple and easy to make. They are a burst of flavours with just so much of an effort. Did I mention they are eggless? I adapted this recipe from my newly added favourite Pear Raspberry Crumb Cake and it works so well. It’s so moist and packed with so much flavour. They actually taste better a day later. But what the hell? I’m too impatient to wait for an entire day. Just dig in! Hope you enjoy! Happy baking!

ginger-cupcakes

ginger-pumpkin-cupcakes

Recipe adapted from my Pear Raspberry Crumb Donut Cake                                                                                                             Butterscotch sauce: Linda Lomelino

Makes: 6 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For the cupcakes

  • 120 gms plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ginger, grated
  • 1 tsp cinnamon powder
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • 130 gms pumpkin puree
  • 30 gms dark brown sugar
  • 30 gms honey
  • 30 ml vegetable oil
  • 30 ml milk/ buttermilk
  • 50 gms chocolate chips

 

For the butterscotch mascarpone frosting

  • 60 gms light brown sugar
  • 25 gms unsalted butter
  • 50 ml heavy cream
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt, or to taste
  • 1/2 tbsp baileys, optional
  • 150 gms mascarpone cheese, slightly chilled

 

METHOD

For the cupcakes

  • Line a tray with cupcake liners. Set aside. Preheat oven to 180 C.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, grated ginger, nutmeg and salt until combined.
  • In another large bowl, whisk the pumpkin puree, brown sugar, honey, oil and milk until combined. Mix in the dry ingredients. Do not overwork the batter. Throw in the chocolate chips and mix.
  • Pipe the batter into a piping bag and fill the cupcake liners up to 2/3. Bake for 18-20 mins or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let them cool.

 

For the frosting

  • Make the butterscotch sauce first: Using a rubber spatula, mix sugar and butter in a medium saucepan and put it over medium heat. Stir occasionally until the sugar melts completely. Once the sugar has melted, add the heavy cream and vanilla extract. It might bubble and splash a little while adding the cream so make sure not to get your face too close. Let it boil for a minute. Remove from heat and stir in the salt and baileys. Let it cool.
  • Beat the mascarpone cheese until soft and smooth. It will take a few seconds only. Do not over beat. Once the butterscotch sauce has cooled, stir in 3/4 of the sauce first with the mascarpone cheese. If you want a stronger flavour, you can add more sauce. Or else, reserve the remaining to drizzle on top. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 mins before frosting.
  • Pipe the frosting on top of the cupcakes. Warm the sauce a little and drizzle on top. You can sprinkle some walnuts if you wish to. Enjoy!

 

Note:

  • You can skip the baileys altogether, however it does add a very interesting flavour to the sauce.
  • If you want to make this into a cake, just double the cake recipe and triple the frosting recipe for a 8″two layer cake. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

 

If you like hearing from me, please hit the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram and Facebook for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle: myyummyspatula ❤

Facebook handle: My Yummy Spatula

2 thoughts on “Ginger Pumpkin Cupcakes with Butterscotch Mascarpone Frosting

Leave a Reply

