Almond Oat Chocolate Chip Cookies

This recipe has been requested by so many of you, and I’ve finally sat down to really write it. I’m sorry for that little delay there, blame it on exams! We can all hate it together now, haha. First of all, hi guys! How have all of you been? I hope you had a great Thanksgiving, with all the gorgeous, flavourful food. We don’t really celebrate Thanksgiving here in India, but I’m so thankful to all of you forย constant love and support. Thank youu xx.

Are you excited for the festive season? I surely am! We decorated our tiny Christmas tree today, and it’s definitely kicking in now. Yay! This is our first Christmas of the blog andย I am going to do a lot of festive baking once exams are overrrr! 4 down, 1 to go. Be ready for all that yumminess coming your way ๐Ÿ˜€ Coming back to our cookies, oh aren’t they just perfect! I made these as a healthy snack (yes, cookies are my snack!) to munch on while studying. Turns out, before I could reach for the second one, my dad had already finished them all! He loved it so much. He couldn’t believe that they were gluten free, and are only sweetened with honey and a bit of brown sugar. Oh, did I mention they are eggless? I guess we are all happy now!

Due to my recent diet changes, I sort of refrained myself from eating all things dessert. That’s quite a task when you’re a baker yourself. However, that’s also the advantage. I have always liked eating healthy, but I was kind of hesitant to explore the healthier alternatives for desserts, mainly because I had never had a good experience with them. A lot of the places where I tried ‘healthier’ desserts tasted like soap or nowhere close to being called desserts for that matter. Trying out options myself, I have realised that healthy can be just as delicious and satisfying. Why not satisfy your cravings without the guilt? These cookies are the perfect example for that. They are so wholesome yet unbelievably delicious, with all the good things.ย Perfect with a cup of tea, or coffee. Hope you enjoy. Happy baking! ๐Ÿ™‚

Almond cookies.jpg

Almond cookies 2.jpg

Almond and oats cookies.jpg

Just a few points to remember:

  • Do not forget to lower your temperature (like I did). They are extremely sensitive and can burn within minutes.
  • I like to line my baking tray twice just to ensure the bottoms don’t turn black. First with a foil paper and then a parchment/baking paper.
  • Chill the cookie dough for at least an hour to reduce spreading. They will still spread a bit.

 

Recipe adaptation: Passionate about baking

MAKES: 18-20 cookies

INGREDIENTSย 

  • 100 gms salted butter, at room temperature
  • 80 gms honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 30 gms brown sugar
  • 200 gms almond meal
  • 100 gms rolled oats
  • 50 gms dark chocolate chips

 

METHOD

  • Line a baking tray with a baking paper. (I like to line twice) Keep aside.
  • In a small bowl, heat butter, honey and vanilla extract over low heat until the butter melts. Mix well. You can use a microwave as well.
  • Whisk in the baking soda and brown sugar. Add the oats, almond meal and chocolate chips to form a cookie dough. It will be a bit sticky. Cover with a clingfilm wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.
  • Preheat oven to 140 C.
  • Make small balls out of the cookie dough and press lightly with your palm (They will spread and flatten out in the oven so don’t have to press too much). Keep sufficient gap between them, about an inch or so. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. You might want to keep an eye on them just to make sure they don’t burn.
  • Let it cool on the tray for 5 minutes as they are very tender when straight out of the oven. Enjoy with your cup of tea/coffee.

 

If you like hearing from me, please hit the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram and Facebook for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle:ย myyummyspatulaย โค

Facebook handle:ย My Yummy Spatula

Leave a Reply

