Panforte (Holiday Edition)

Ciao! Let’s go down the Italian path today, haha. It was only until recently that I got to know about this little gem, and  am I happy?! Panforte (pronounced as PAAN-FOR-TE) is a traditional Italian Christmas dessert which is a cross between a fruitcake and Lebkuchen (honey cakes). It’s a mildly spiced cake with loads of fruits and nuts, aka perfect for Christmas! The texture is almost candy-like with a chewy soft centre. It’s a ridiculously easy dessert and oh SO good! This is the best thing I’ve eaten all week. Yes, it’s that good!

I stumbled upon this gem of a dessert randomly a few days ago and I just couldn’t wait to try this one. It’s been a pretty hectic week and I haven’t had the time to really sit and work on my blog or bake so much. Thankfully, this bad boy is super quick and easy to make, with no advance preparation. I obviously tweaked the original recipe to suit my healthy requirements. I cannot emphasise enough on just how good this cake tastes! I’m not usually a binger, but I cannot stop with this one, especially when it’s packed with all the rich goodness. I have used a generous splash of fort wine here, because why not? That’s just the Italian way. 😛  It’s like the cake of my dreams!

Make this cake NOW and you shall thank me later. Till then, felice cottura! ❤

Panforte 2.jpg

Panforte 3.jpg

Recipe adaptation: BBC Good Food

 

MAKES: 8 slices (5″)

INGREDIENTS

  • 150 gms nuts of your choice (I used a mix of pistachios and almonds)
  • 25 gms candied peel
  • 120 gms dried fruits (I used a mix of dates and apricots)
  • 25 gms multigrain flour
  • 40 gms honey
  • 50 gms coconut sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom seeds
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg powder
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 1/2 tbsp fort wine (Sherry, brandy or marsala works)
  • icing sugar, for dusting

 

METHOD

  • Grease a 5″ round tin with butter and line with baking paper. Keep aside.
  • Toast the nuts in a dry pan and add to a bowl. Chop and stir in the candied peel along with the flour.
  • Preheat the oven to 170ºC.
  • Blitz the apricots and dates in a food processor, then transfer to a saucepan with the fort wine, honey and coconut sugar. Add in the cardamom seeds, cinnamon powder, nutmeg powder and pepper.
  • Bring to a boil and simmer for 2-4 minutes on low heat, then pour onto the nut mixture. Mix well.
  • Spoon into the tin and bake for 30 minutes. The top will be soft but not sticky.
  • Remove from the oven and leave to cool in the tin for 10 minutes.
  • Thinly slice and dust with icing sugar, then serve with espresso! Buon appetito!

 

If you like hearing from me, please hit the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram and Facebook for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle: myyummyspatula ❤

Facebook handle: My Yummy Spatula

2 thoughts on “Panforte (Holiday Edition)

Leave a Reply

