Brown Butter Espresso Brownies

I’m not gonna do a lot of talking here. I mean I could, but it would be very very unfair to keep you waiting to try this recipe. Disclaimer: It’s not for the faint hearted! They are dark and espresso brownies in the truest sense. I hate it when I’m served a coffee dessert which is just over the top loaded with sugar, with literally no hint of coffee in it. I mean, why?! That’s just not doing enough justice to the flavour. I guess I’m getting  a bit too touchy here, lol. Anyhow, I can safely say, I have found my one true love <3. Summing up this roller coaster of a  year with my favourite things. Something tells me I’m gonna be making these very regularly. After all, brownies never hurt anyone right?

I’m very picky when it comes to food, particularly desserts. Well, I guess that’s a given for every baker. You can’t bear to have your shit done wrong. It’s very rare that I find desserts mind blowing. Mainly because balancing the textures & flavours with the right amount of sweetness can be tricky. This applies to me as well. Yes, there are desserts which are yum and good, but then there are desserts which are YUM!  This one falls in the latter category, at least for me. I absolutely love how the brown butter adds such subtle hints of caramel flavour to the brownies. Coffee & caramel are two of my favourite flavours. They taste even better when they are put together! So, you can just guess how amazingg these are gonna be. Okay, too much talking. Let’s do some baking. If you are a true coffee lover, just like myself, you’re gonna LOVE them! No, there’s no keeping hands to yourself here.

brown-butter-brownies

Brown butter espresso brownies.jpg

brown-butter-espresso-brownies-2

Recipe adaptation: Sprouted Kitchen

 

MAKES: 4 brownies

INGREDIENTS

  • 75 gms salted butter
  • 120 gms coconut sugar
  • 45 gms cacao powder, non alkalised preferably
  • 1/2 tbsp water, room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 small egg + 1 egg yolk
  • 40 gms multigrain flour
  • 2 tsp espresso powder* (I used Bynemara Estate from Blue Tokai)
  • handful of dark chocolate chips
  • toasted hazelnuts or any nuts of your choice to garnish, chopped (optional)

 

METHOD

  • Grease a small cupcake pan, or a small square tin with butter and dust generously with flour. Keep aside. Preheat oven to 170 C.
  • In a medium saucepan, melt butter on low heat, swirling occasionally until it starts to brown and smell nutty. It should take about 4 minutes. Keep an eye on it or else it might burn quickly.
  • Remove from heat and immediately add in the coconut sugar, cacao powder, water and vanilla extract. Mix properly until well combined. Let it cool for 5 minutes.
  • Add the eggs one at a time, starting with the whole egg and whisking well after each addition. Stir in the flour and grounded espresso powder, and mix well until no lumps remain, if any.
  • Pour the brownie mixture into the prepared tin. They do not rise much so you can fill almost to the top. Press few chocolate chips into the centre to give it an extra gooey and molten texture. Bake for 12-15 mins or until the edges are just done.
  • Sprinkle some toasted hazelnuts or any toasted nuts of your choice when just out of the oven. Let it cool in the baking tin for 10 minutes before de-moulding. Serve warm with a big scoop of ice cream of your choice. You can also drizzle some hot chocolate or caramel sauce for extra goodness!

 

Notes:

*- I used 3 tsp of espresso powder because I like mine bursting with coffee. The flavour enhances upon baking so don’t get carried away if you cannot taste the coffee so much in the raw mixture.

  1. You can double or triple the recipe for larger batches.
  2. They stay well up to 3 days at room temperature stored in a container. Just microwave a little before serving. I haven’t tried freezing them but I guess they should stay alright if frozen in an airtight container.

 

If you like hearing from me, please hit the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram and Facebook for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle: myyummyspatula ❤

Facebook handle: My Yummy Spatula

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

