Baileys Salted Caramel (vegan)

If you have been reading my blog for a while now you would know my love for Caramel. Especially salted caramel, oh! There’s something VERY tempting about it. Maybe it’s about how luscious and rich it is. Not to forget, that beautiful color when you see the sugar melting. Sweet and salty is a great combination- there’s no denying that. Whoever thought of doing it with caramel must be a genius! Yeah, you would’ve probably guessed my love for it by now. Giving up dairy was both a choice and compulsion. I had to for medical reasons (I’m not lactose intolerant) plus I never liked what it did to my stomach. None the less, giving up dairy isn’t easy. I still struggle to completely eliminate it from my diet, but I’m getting there. Although it has given me some perspective on the kind of things we put in our stomachs since I have started checking the ingredients before buying anything. I must say, our bodies are pretty strong for all the crap we feed them. Anyhow, you’re not here to read about my rants on packaged foods. Getting to an exciting topic, salted caramel.

Vegan caramel.jpg

Salted caramel is hands down my favourite accompaniment. It’s quick, easy, and tastes bloody amazing with everything! How many of you agree? This one is so luscious and rich. The best part, it’s obviously vegannn! I like to add a splash of baileys in my caramel because what can I say, I’m an alcoholic! 😛 Haha, I’m kidding. It just tastes so goooodd! I like to make a big jar and store it because it’s just one of those things that come so handy. This one is quite a spontaneous post. You can see I’m already ¾ down the jar and I thought it would be a good idea to share the recipe with you all. Make a big jar because trust me, it’s definitely gonna come handy for you too! Pour it over your ice cream, waffles, serve it along with cake or better just make some caramel popcorn. They are hell addictive!

Vegan caramel top shot.jpg

vegan-baileys-caramel

Makes: 1 cup

INGREDIENTS

  • 200 gms granulated sugar
  • 60 ml coconut cream, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt, or to taste
  • 1 tbsp Baileys

 

METHOD

  • In a medium saucepan, heat sugar on low heat and melt completely. It will form clumps and then melt to a dark amber colour. Stir continuously while the sugar is melting using a heat resistant spatula or a wooden spoon. This should take about 4-5 mins, however keep an eye on it as sugar burns very quickly.
  • Remove from heat. Add the coconut cream and mix rigorously to avoid forming clumps. The mixture will bubble as the cream is colder than the sugar. Once the cream is well incorporated, place it back on low heat and cook for a minute.
  • Add the vanilla extract and sea salt. Remove from heat. Lastly add the baileys and stir. Your caramel is ready!

 

Note:

  • You can store it in a jar and refrigerate for further use. It should last for a month or so.

 

 

If you like hearing from me, you can show some love by hitting the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram and Facebook for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle: myyummyspatula ❤

Facebook handle: My Yummy Spatula

One thought on “Baileys Salted Caramel (vegan)

Leave a Reply

