Cookies Coffee Parfait

iesYou know you’ve been slacking a lot when the recipe for a dessert you made two weeks ago is still not up. I want to apologise for being the lazy ass that I am! No more slacking from now on, I promise! Let’s talk dessert, shall we? Now that’s a happy topic I love 😀 This particular post is happier!

How many of you are coffee lovers here? I sure am! One of my favourite ingredients to work with has to be coffee. What can I say, it’s just so addictive! This one in particular has all my favourite things. Coffee, hints of cinnamon, chocolate (duh) and loads of biscuits to give you that crunch! What I love about parfaits is just how creative you can be! I tend to get a little carried away with flavours and highly recommend you doing so too (not too much of course). I feel it’s very important to experiment in the kitchen. One of the great things about blogging is that it has pushed me to really experiment and play around in the kitchen with flavours I probably wouldn’t have otherwise. I mean, how many of us think of making Zucchini Chocolate Cupcakes at the first instance? The whole point in being a food blogger is to help my readers get more confident about baking, by providing a basic recipe layout. So yeah guys, get adventurous. Play around with flavours that you might never think of and get a little carried. Trust me, not everything will work out. It sure doesn’t for me. I’m 20 and by no means a certified professional, so you can imagine how often my experiments fail. Nonetheless, you will hit a few, miss a few but you’re gonna have loads of fun doing so. Just enjoy the process. ❤

Biscuit Coffee Parfait.jpg

You see just HOW easily I get carried away, haha? Okay focus! Where were we? Parfaits. Yes. I’m gonna cut long story short. You need to try this to know how good this is! My sister and mum loved it so much that they wiped cleaned both the glasses. In a nutshell, it’s dark, luscious, crunchy, smooth and oh so delicious! The espresso ganache is the most decadent thing everrrr. Don’t worry about it being too indulgent (like if there’s even a thing called ‘too indulgent’! :P), the coconut whipped cream would balance it out. I have used the light roast espresso powder from Blue Tokai. If you’re from Delhi/ Bombay and haven’t visited this place yet, what are you waiting for?! I love brands which are solely built on their quality of product and Blue Tokai is definitely one of them. Their espresso powder has such a nutty, caramely flavour to it. Make sure to dig deep because you don’t wanna miss out on all the goodness in one bite. Although adding Baileys is optional, I would highly recommend you using it. It just elevates the parfait to another level! Too much talking? Okay go make them now. Happy baking ❤

biscuit-coffee-parfait-2

coffee-parfait

Makes: 2 servings

INGREDIENTS

For the espresso ganache

  • 85 gms good quality dark chocolate (I use 65% dark chocolate from Mason & Co.), chopped
  • 85 gms coconut cream
  • 1 1/4 tsp espresso powder (I use Blue Tokai)
  • 2 tbsp organic honey/ maple syrup (for vegan)

For the coconut whipped cream

  • 120 gms coconut cream, chilled
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp espresso powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon powder

Assembly

  • 1 packet (10 pieces) Marigold biscuits or any cookies of your choice, crushed roughly
  • 1 tsp espresso powder + 1/4 tsp cinnamon powder, mixed together
  • Roasted hazelnuts or almonds
  • 4 tsp Baileys, optional

METHOD

For the espresso ganache

  • Place the chopped chocolate in a large bowl. Heat the coconut cream on low heat until it just begins to boil. Do not boil. Remove from heat.
  • Pour the cream over the chocolate and let it sit for 5 mins before stirring. Stir until all the chocolate has completely melted. If need be, place over a double boiler for a minute.
  • Stir in the espresso powder and honey/maple syrup. Chill in the refrigerator until use.

For the coconut whipped cream

  • Pour the chilled coconut cream in a large bowl. Beat until fluffy and begins to hold it’s shape. Stir in the vanilla, espresso powder and cinnamon powder. * Chill in the refrigerator until use.

Assembly

  • To assemble the parfait, line two serving glasses with some espresso ganache.
  • Add the crushed biscuits.If using Baileys, spoon a tsp in each glass over the biscuits. Sprinkle the espresso-cinnamon mixture.
  • Pipe a generous layer of the espresso ganache.
  • Repeat with the crushed biscuits, baileys and espresso-cinnamon mixture.
  • Finish it off with a generous layer of the coconut whipped cream.
  • Garnish with roasted hazelnuts and crushed biscuits. Chill until serving!

Note:

  • They don’t stay very well for long. Store covered in a refrigerator for up to 2 days. Although they are TOO good to resist. Happy indulging! 😀

If you like hearing from me, you can show some love by hitting the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram and Facebook for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle: myyummyspatula ❤

Facebook handle: My Yummy Spatula

One thought on “Cookies Coffee Parfait

Leave a Reply

