Cranberry-Goji Berry Cacao Bars

I’ve recently been introduced to the world of dates. I mean I obviously knew about them and maybe even had them occasionally but definitely not so extensively. I don’t think I can imagine baking without dates now! It’s just one of those things you need to have in your shelf. They make for such a great alternative to refined sugar. If you’re looking at cutting down your sugar intake, or even if you’re not, you MUST give dates a try! Definitely one of my favourite natural sweeteners. I like to make a smooth paste and use it in cakes in place of sugar. You can check out my latest post Triple Chocolate Cake to see how quick and easy it is to make a date paste!

Cranberry Goji berry bars.jpg

Now that dates have got your much due attention, let’s shed some light on these beauties. These energy bars are packed with so much goodness and are perfect for all your sweet cravings! You don’t need to compromise on your health or your taste buds (for that matter) to satisfy cravings. A lot of my friends request me to make ‘non healthy’ desserts for them because apparently healthy wholesome desserts have no taste but that couldn’t be far from the truth. I don’t exactly blame them because the ‘so-called’ healthy desserts we get in the market are pretty bad and taste like soap to say the least. (This is only based on my experience.) Anyway, I’m sure there are some great places too. One of the reasons I digressed into healthier baking is to introduce the goodness of healthy baking to people.

goji-berry-bars

cranberry-cacao-bars

I love making energy bars for they are super simple to make and take literally few minutes to come together. No fancy machine, just your good old blender. One of the great things about this particular recipe is that it is very very versatile. The standard is: 1 part dates + 1 part nut + 1 part dried fruit. If you have got your standard, you can play around with any flavor of your choice. Here I have used almonds as my nut base, and a mix of dried cranberries & goji berries as my dried fruit base. But it’s totally up to you. You can use your preferred nut and dried fruit. Don’t worry, this recipe is very forgiving. 😀 I’ve also added a lot other things to add extra flavours. In a nutshell, these bars are super easy & quick to make, require only 3 base ingredients, are so versatile and of course SO yum!

 

Recipe adaptation: The kitchn

Makes: 10 bars

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup pitted dates*
  • 1 cup almonds
  • ½ cup dried cranberries
  • ½ cup dried goji berries
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 2 tbsp cacao powder, non alkalized preferably
  • 1 tsp espresso powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 2 tsp flax seeds

 

METHOD

  • Put pitted dates, almonds, dried cranberries and goji berries in a blender and blend well until they break down to pea sized pieces or less.
  • Add the rest of the ingredients and blend well until well combined and desired texture is reached.
  • Line a square/ rectangle tin with baking paper and fill with the blended mixture. Press down to form a smooth surface and the mixture is tightly packed. Refrigerate for at least an hour. Slice into pieces.

 

Note:

*– I like to soak mine in hot water for a minute before blending so as to soften them a bit.

  1. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to a week.

 

 

If you like hearing from me, you can show some love by hitting the follow button. You can also follow me on instagram and Facebook for more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories!

Instagram handle: myyummyspatula ❤

Facebook handle: My Yummy Spatula

2 thoughts on “Cranberry-Goji Berry Cacao Bars

Leave a Reply

