Fluffiest Pancakes (Vegan friendly)

Do any of you feel tired (and dare I say a little apprehensive) of always having to google recipes every time and have a whole hit and trial session? Now even as a consumer, it’s just so exhausting to try recipes from different sources every time, in hopes that it turns out well. And having done that a million times personally, I can vouch with full credibility that it’s not the most exciting feeling. I have had far more failed recipes than successful ones in the past but thankfully, as a food blogger, I have indeed learnt a few tricks of judging a recipe. Nevertheless, I still have failed recipes every now and then- yes, a long way to go still. However experimental I am, I always like to have a fall back option, almost like a cushion- where I know I won’t be disappointed. Having been at the receiving end, I wish this little space can be that trusting friend for you- just like a cushion at the comfort of which, you know you will not be disappointed. ❀

Speaking of comfort, you know what’s pure comfort? Pancakes. YES! Now honestly, pancakes aren’t something I make on a regular basis, but for the rare times that I do, I never had a go-to pancake recipe that I absolutely loved (part of the reason I never made them often I guess). Until now. This it it. I have found it and I see the frequency of pancakes rising in the future. πŸ˜› I’m not kidding. My sister, who almost hates pancakes, has had these two days in a row now. Surprising, eh? Not so surprising once you make them. So fluffy, so satisfying, super easy, very healthy and also vegan! WHAAT?! I see you need these in your life. Am I right or am I right? Happy breakfast-ing everybody! πŸ˜€

Vegan pancakes.jpg

Vegan pancakes 2.jpg

Recipe adaptation: Wallflower Kitchen

 

Makes: a stack of 6 pancakesΒ 

Ingredients

Dry ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup amaranth flour (or sub whole wheat flour)
  • 1 tbsp cornflour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon powder (optional)
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds

Wet ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp light olive oil or sunflower oil (or any other mild flavoured oil)
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup or honey (if not vegan)
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup almond milk or any other plant based milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

 

Method

  • Whisk the dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  • In another large bowl, whisk the wet ingredients until well combined.
  • Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients bowl and slowly pour in the wet ingredients, whisking lightly. Mix well until no lumps remain.
  • Heat a non stick pan/griddle over low-medium heat. Once the pan is hot (not burning hot though), brush a little oil. Using a small ladle, pour the pancake batter onto the hot pan and let it cook for 45-60 seconds on one side or until small bubbles form Β on top (key to ensure the other side is cooked).
  • Flip the pancake gently and let it cook for another 45-60 seconds, until golden brown. Continue till the batter is over.
  • Serve warm with your choice of syrup or my favourite- Nutella, chopped bananas and crushed walnuts!

 

Send over a picture if you do give this a try using the hashtag #MyYummySpatula and tag @myyummyspatula. Can’t wait to see all your recreations! ❀

Like more deliciousness ? Hit the follow button!Β You can also check out more drooling pictures, updates and behind the scene stories on Instagram! xx

Instagram handle:Β myyummyspatula

Facebook handle:Β My Yummy Spatula

 

2 thoughts on “Fluffiest Pancakes (Vegan friendly)

Leave a Reply

